We’re changing things.
In the fields, in the kitchens & in our minds

 

1

We are unwilling to accept the mediocrity of a system of food and agriculture that inherently engenders middling culinary arts and an indifferent food culture, and which floods our markets, kitchens and restaurants with characterless foodstuffs.

2

We believe in an agricultural model dedicated to the best-possible foodstuffs. In producers who, like us, are pursuing the finest possible taste in what they produce. Who challenge us to understand the essential nature of their product. And who push us to work with products that grow on the land, and in the process to become better and more creative chefs.

3

We value local communities. It is not about geographic proximity, but rather emotional closeness, direct dialog and respectful collaboration between people, producers and sellers all working toward that same goal of better food.

4

We remember that, as Wendell Berry once said, “eating is an agricultural act.” What we eat has a direct influence on how our world is used. Assuming responsibility and changing things is often uncomfortable and difficult to do alone.

5

We hold that reestablishing the connections that have been lost between land, food, producers, restaurants and each other is an act of essential collective goodness.

 

with

Honesty
Respect
ARTISANSHIP
Empathy
Humility

Wir verändern etwas.
Auf dem Feld, in der Küche & in den Köpfen.

 

 

 

1

Wir geben uns nicht mit dem Mittelmaß einer Lebensmittel- und Agrarindustrie zufrieden, die eine mittelmäßige Kulinarik und Esskultur mit sich bringt und unsere Märkte, Küchen und Restaurants mit mittelmäßigen Lebensmitteln überschwemmt.

2

Wir glauben an die Art von bäuerlicher Landwirtschaft, die uns die besten Lebensmittel bringt. An LandwirtInnen, die wie wir, nach dem besten Geschmack in einem Lebensmittel suchen. Die uns herausfordern, Lebensmittel zu verstehen und mit dem zu arbeiten, was auf dem Land wächst, und uns somit zu besseren und kreativeren KöchInnen macht.

3

Wir wertschätzen Lokalitäten. Dabei geht es nicht um geografische Nähe, sondern um eine emotionale Nähe, den direkten Austausch und die achtsame Zusammenarbeit mit Menschen, ProduzentInnen und HändlerInnen, die mit demselben Ziel für besseres Essen produzieren.

4

„Essen ist eine landwirtschaftliche Tätigkeit“ (Wendell Berry). Was wir essen, hat direkten Einfluss darauf, wie unsere Welt genutzt wird. Verantwortung zu übernehmen und etwas zu verändern ist für den Einzelnen oft unbequem und schwer.

5

Essenziell Gutes entsteht in der Gemeinschaft, in der wir die verloren gegangene Nähe zwischen Land, Lebensmitteln, ProduzentInnen, Gastronomie und auch zueinander wiederherstellen

 

mit

Ehrlichkeit
Wertschätzung
Empathie
Bescheidenheit
Handwerk